My words, My rhetoric

rhet·o·ric

noun

  1. (in writing or speech) the undue use of exaggeration or display; bombast.
  2. the art or science of all specialized literary uses of language in prose or verse, including the figures of speech.
  3. the study of the effective use of language.
  4. the ability to use language effectively.
  5. the art of prose in general as opposed to verse.

I’ve been told I should tone down my rhetoric. The intended use of the word was not specified, so I figured I’d address them all.

  1. Undue. Exaggeration. Bombast (speech too pretentious/pompous for an occasion). What about animal rights activism is undue? What about drawing attention to the reality of food production is exaggerated? How am I pretentious for wanting to scream at the top of my lungs that we are no better than the animals we are exploiting for our enjoyment?
  2. Oh, so you want me to be less intelligent when I speak? No thanks.
  3. Again, where’s the problem?
  4. You don’t want me to be effective in my speech?
  5. I use my words and actions to convey what I need to. Typically this is trait is desirable.

So, why would anyone want me to tone my rhetoric down? To tone down myself, my actions, my words; is to be silent. Given that I already see so much that makes me want to scream but instead I lower my head, avert my eyes, and try not to think about it every second of every day… to do less than I do is to be silent. Is to betray myself. To do any less is to be complacent; which I am not. In a world where action is needed for anything to ever change, to do nothing is to consent. Which I do not.

My rhetoric should not be cause of concern for anyone. What my discourse and actions are about is what you should be offended by.

I do what I do because it is important to me. I do what I do because it is important. I do what I do because I care an awful lot.

Image

Leave a Reply

